Red Carpet Chemo Runway

Brandon Slesser
4 min readApr 27, 2024
Photo by Dorinel Panaite on Unsplash

Rolling Out the Red Carpet

It’s coming closer, the big day, the grand finale, venit ad finem. I run hot water over my head and across my face. I’ve got to look my best for this special occasion. The sound of the bell is getting closer. I can already feel the rope in my hand. My reflection looking back at me in that golden surface. All eyes are on me as take the final stretch and allow every amount of hurt, anger, pain, humiliation, and decay to leave my body. The day that I grab that rope and ring that bell, that is the day that I will finally be set free. The bondages that hold me down will no longer wrap around my wrist and ankles. It will be a day of celebration. The moment that they start ROLLING OUT THE RED CARPET, will be the day that I emerge from the ashes. A burning phoenix no longer held back by limitations and ideologies. I will be free. The flames will dance off my skin in an orchestra of strength and power. Confidence will come back into my face. I will be brand new, born from the ashes of the old life that I will leave behind…watching the old me die so that the new me can be reborn.

The Runway Awaits

--

--

Brandon Slesser

Survivor. Fighter. Raw Thinker. I feel deep and my words are deeper. Florida boy who loves the sun and cold drink. Beach goer and speedo fanatic. I’m just me.